gfxgfx
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
gfx gfx
gfxgfx
 
Got a few minutes to kill? Try the Doom Flash Challenge :afro: - http://www.cafedoom.com/forum/index.php/board,36.0.html
 
gfx gfx
gfx
55971 Posts in 6183 Topics by 1808 Members - Latest Member: wallynicholson666 November 28, 2021, 03:13:49 PM
*
gfx* Home | Help | Login | Register | gfx
gfx
Cafe Doom  |  General Discussions  |  General Discussion  |  Troubles with my connection
gfx
gfxgfx
 

Author Topic: Troubles with my connection  (Read 4131 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ed

  • The Mastah, muahahaaaa....
  • Administrator
  • Coroner
  • ***
  • Posts: 11126
  • Karma: +6/-1
  • Don't look behind you!!!!!
Troubles with my connection
« on: November 02, 2004, 04:23:33 AM »
Urf! >:(  I can't get my broadband to connect any sense.  So I've had to use :laffin: AOL dialup this morning.  It's so slow, and I hate it! >:(
Planning is an unnatural process - it is much more fun to do something.  The nicest thing about not planning is that failure comes as a complete surprise, rather than being preceded by a period of worry and depression. [Sir John Harvey-Jones]

Offline Troglodyte

  • A bit of Northern rough
  • Coffin Maker
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Trog's having to eat his words
Re: Troubles with my connection
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2004, 04:28:06 AM »
I thought the whole thing with broadband was that it was on all the time?
Writing, when properly managed, (as you may be sure I think mine is) is but a different name for conversation.

Laurence Sterne (1713-1768)

Offline Neuromancer

  • Indefatigable Misanthrope
  • Mortician
  • ****
  • Posts: 356
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Semper Veritas
    • Net-Tronic
Re: Troubles with my connection
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2004, 04:29:57 AM »
Bummer Blunt...

If you are on DSL, try reseting your modem....

Or, try calling and see if service is out...

Or... I dont know LOL



Its funny my last place of employment spent a lot of money on a T1 connection, because its "more reliable"

Except my cable connection hasnt gone down but once this year... (and we lost power... so I am not sure we lost cable LOL)

Where as the t1 went down 3 times in 2 months...

Sucks for them they could have spent half as much money and gotten 12 times the DL speed and 2 times the UL speed of T1 by getting commercail cable...



sorry about the tangent blunt


try resetting your modem ;)

Yes I am a writer, but my critics call me a typist.--Salem's Lot

Offline Ed

  • The Mastah, muahahaaaa....
  • Administrator
  • Coroner
  • ***
  • Posts: 11126
  • Karma: +6/-1
  • Don't look behind you!!!!!
Re: Troubles with my connection
« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2004, 01:24:01 PM »
I tried running all the diagnostic tests with the package...and the wanky prog hung ::)  So I read all the relevant FAQ questions and answers - still didn't find it, so finally I gave up and rang the (premium rate) helpline.  Explained what was happening to the support guy, answered all his questions.  Then, after a few minutes, he asked if I'd heard the pre-recorded message before I'd spoken to him - there was no pre-recorded message, "Ah," he says, "the whole network is down at the moment...there's a fault on it." >:(  Well why the fuck didn't you tell me that to start with???

Jeysus....
Planning is an unnatural process - it is much more fun to do something.  The nicest thing about not planning is that failure comes as a complete surprise, rather than being preceded by a period of worry and depression. [Sir John Harvey-Jones]

Cafe Doom  |  General Discussions  |  General Discussion  |  Troubles with my connection
 

gfxgfx
gfx
SMF 2.0.17 | SMF © 2019, Simple Machines Page created in 0.11 seconds with 24 queries.
Helios Multi © Bloc
gfx
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!